Board of Trustees

Most Recent Board of Trustees Meeting Agenda

Next Board of Trustees Meeting

The next meeting will be: June 20, 2023 at 1:10 PM.

Zoom Link to be posted morning of meeting.



New Dawn Charter Schools Board Members serve a one-year term and are automatically nominated for another year term every June. The current members are:

For Board Members

For NDCS Board Members: BoardEffect Board Portal Link

Chair: Ronald Tabano

Ronald Tobano

Ronald Tabano has over 40 years of experience in education. Beginning his career as a 6th-grade teacher, he then moved into teaching social studies and English Language Arts at the middle and high school levels, and ultimately as an Assistant Principal. He then moved from the school environment to work for the community by creating job opportunities for struggling adolescents. He is a founding member of The Wildcat Academy, opened in 1992, The Second Opportunity School (SOS), which opened in 1997, and The New Beginnings School in 1999. Today, Mr. Tabano continues his work as CEO and Principal of The Wildcat Academy in New York City.

Vice Chair: Jane Y. Sun

Jane Y. Sun

Ms. Jane Y. Sun is the lead data engineer for The Center for Educational Innovation (CEI) in NYC. Ms. Sun has designed software tools for schools that explain business rules and regulations and analytical priorities. She has provided an evaluation of data management policies, procedures and other documentation for software companies, the Federal Education Department, and the NYC DOE. She is a supportive advocate of school improvement through teacher evaluation and data analysis. She has experience with data-use training, software training, and setting growth targets for various schools. Ms. Sun oversees the supervision of data engineers within her company and has experience in quantitative analysis and SAS programming.

Secretary: Brian Baer

 NDCS logo 

Treasurer: Katharine Urbati

NDCS logo

Member: Jonathan Carrington

NDCS logo